Does Honey Nut Cheerios Have Nuts?

Many people are allergic to peanuts to varying degrees and the question that is commonly asked is does Honey Nut Cheerios have nuts in 2018? As you can see, it is probably obvious why people would ask this question. The cereal brand has the name nut in it. Which would concern many who are allergic to any form of peanut or nut in general. However, Honey Nut Cheerios do not contain nuts and our whole childhood we have been deceived. Honey Nut Cheerios, however, do contain an almond allergy warning on their box. This is because one of the ingredients that is listed below could potentially contain almonds or a relative of almonds causing a severe allergic reaction.

Ingredients

To find out if there were actually nuts in Honey Nut Cheerios you could simply read the label but this would take up valuable time that you could be eating the cereal instead. The list of ingredients is below but do not include the added vitamins and minerals.

  • Whole Grain Oats (Includes the Oat Bran)
  • Sugar
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Honey
  • Brown Sugar Syrup
  • Salt
  • Tripotassium
  • Phosphate
  • Canola and/or Rice Bran Oil
  • Natural Almond Flavor
  • Vitamin E (Added to preserve freshness)

History

Honey Nut Cheerios actually did contain grounded up almonds until around 2006. However, this has since been replaced with natural almond flavor. It may seem weird but the natural almond flavor does not have to contain almonds. Almond flavor can be made with other ingredients and still receive that nutty taste you are tasting when you are consuming the cereal.

Honey Nut Cheerios does contain a warning on their box for people with almond or other tree nut allergies. The thing is, is that there could be real almonds used in the natural almond flavor which would react to those who are allergic but they technically do not have to tell us.

Most of the natural almond flavor come from the pits of peaches and apricots. These pits are a waste product when these fruits get processed. Believe it or not, peaches and apricots are actually relatives of the almond. And believe it or not, people who are allergic to almonds are usually also allergic to these fruits.

This is why Honey Nut Cheerios does have an almond allergy warning. Even though it may not contain almonds at all. It is the worst thing really because those who are allergic to almonds should not eat it but it may not even contain almonds. People who are allergic to almonds may in general want to avoid this product as it may cause issues with your allergy. This is difficult because it may or may not contain almonds. However, due to the Food and Drug Administration food companies do not necessarily have to tell us what is in their products. However, if there is any possible allergen that could be located within their foods it must be labeled on the box. This would be why the almond allergy is on the box of Honey Nut Cheerios.